Rest well, M

1.2.2017

Dec 24. Nurse Ann brought me by your bedside, you were staring at me and all the response I can get from you was a weak nod.

Ann said you were left behind by your family and that no relatives nor friends have visited you for so long she has been taking care of you, changing your diapers, buying your meds and praying hard that you will make it through.
She asked help for the diapers and for some meds and she also asked help to secure your confirmatory papers from the Department of Health since you didn’t have a copy with you. The only copy was with your sister who fled and never came back.

That was my only assignment and she was supposed to call me December 27th so we can coordinate closely.

But no calls.

Today we came back to visit some patients and I was particularly looking forward to seeing you.

But you were gone

You’re a complete stranger. To me. To the nurses. 

And no one really knew you

I am very mad…. Furious at your family for leaving you.

This much I know, you are resting now.  

So go and rest. Too bad because I was looking forward to spending more time with you.

But rest now. 

You so deserve it.

About +daddy+drEw+

HIV awareness and treatment Advocate & Activist. Living with HIV since 2007. A friend. A partner. A dad to the HIV Community.
This entry was posted in Advocacy. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rest well, M

  1. Teddy says:

    -heart touching…sobrang nabasag ako sa nabasa kong ito..M..alam ko, dka pbabayaan ni God, dyan sa heaven.

  2. Harlon says:

    Absolutely heartbreaking and disturbingly true. A story that needs to be told, by a voice that I love to listen to. Peace, Harlon

  3. Pingback: Sad Stories and Sadder You | advocatehiv

Leave a comment