A Hell of a Day

09.07.2017

Septembet 6. 10am. Went to Antipolo to see a client, diagnosed 2015 but he never sought treatment.  We talked, talked, had lunch, and talked some more.

4pm. Went back to Quezon City,  further north of the city, to see a client diagnosed 4-5months ago and has been symptomatic for the past two months. We talked, talked, talked, had dinner, and then talked some more.

Between  10am and 7, I had to make several stops to respond to emails, take and make calls, and reply to text messages.

Got home around 830pm,  and someone wanted to get tested. I wanted to reschedule but he’s very anxious so I said yes. He said we can meet around midnight. I told myself, “rest, baby!”

11pm, I got an endorsement for another client for screening, drove out to his place 10 minutes away.  And then off to my midnight schedule who arrived late 130am.  

215am. I was on the way home and a call came in. “DON’T ANSWER THE EFFING PHONE!” I told myself, but after three missed calls, I parked and called back. Another lost to follow up from last 2016, wanting to seek treatment.

3am. I craved for some burger machine only to stand in queue for 15minutes, and I decided to drive thru Jollibee.  I asked the cashier if the burger I wanted was available, she said yes.  After taking my cash, she went like, “Sir, 5 minutes, ok lang?”. I took a deep breath and said, “Yes.” with a smile (YES!!!!! WITH A SMILE). I went on to the next window and the next girl handed me my soda,  fries and then, “Sir, 10minutes….”  

I was like, the girl said 5minutes.

She said, “ay, OK, 5minutes”

And from behind, the guy shouted, “Out!” 

And the girl told me, “ok na, sir”

340am. I had my Amazing Aloha- a quarter pounder with bacon and pineapple. 

Yes…saved. The long day was was all worth it. 

Now, who will debrief me?

Thanks to Grey’s Anatomy and The Catch,  and my Amazing Aloha Burger, I’m okay. And as Dr. Derek Shepherd said…

It’s a beautiful day to save lives.

About +daddy+drEw+

HIV awareness and treatment Advocate & Activist. Living with HIV since 2007. A friend. A partner. A dad to the HIV Community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

