A Positive’s Lucky 7 Resolutions

12.31.2016

So as a child I have always done my New Year’s resolution on a yearly basis not so much because I wanted to but mainly because it would be part of some writing assignment in school. I think it went on up until my high-school days. Since then I don’t believe I’ve ever made a New Year’s resolution 

Personally, I don’t think what I’m about to list would be resolutions but it’s kind of like a list of things to do for a 2017:

  1. Blog probably at least two to three times a month, there were months when I wasn’t able to write at all in 2016
  2. Visit the hospital at least once a month. I think I consciously made the effort of not going to the hospital in 2016 because sometimes I  told myself that I couldn’t do anything about the patients.  Come to think of it, not going to the hospital further limits the opportunity to help others.
  3. Train at least 5 people in treatment and care support with focus on hospital visits and sourcing of donations for the positive community.
  4. Keep better records of cases handled for better and easier reference so I don’t end up confused with all the patients’ records and names and cases.
  5. Keep reminding myself not to expect everyone to come back after they get better to say hi or hello and keep telling myself that at least they’re doing better.
  6. Hit my 10th year anniversary with my partner by August and of course, my 10th year anniversary living with HIV by July.
  7. Disclose my status to my mom and yes, I haven’t done so for the past 9 years mainly because I’ve always thought that she’s in her senior years and that she doesn’t have to know, so I finally decided to let my mother know. 

Wish me luck.

About +daddy+drEw+

HIV awareness and treatment Advocate & Activist. Living with HIV since 2007. A friend. A partner. A dad to the HIV Community.
This entry was posted in Advocacy. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Positive’s Lucky 7 Resolutions

  1. Harlon says:

    I definitely wish you luck – I’d say strength and courage but I know you have those already. Consider me your fan in return, Harlon

  2. Joey Guevarra says:

    Not that I want to stop you from doing so. This is more for my own information. I just want to ask you: what would be your motivation in revealing your HIV status to your mom after 10 years of keeping it from her? Just asking here, thanks.

    • +daddy+drEw+ says:

      The only reason why we never told her before was that because we felt that she was getting older and we did not want to stress her however I knew very well even before that she wouldn’t have any issues with my HIV status

      Lately I have been getting exposed both social media and some TV interviews and I would not want her to find out from someone else

      The thing is the issue of coming out is not a personal agenda the issue is bigger than me or my family or my relatives and Friends

Leave a Reply

