(my) Highlights of the Candlelight

05.15.2016

So, May 14th was the #AIDSHOUR2016 and the international AIDS candlelight memorial and this year, Quezon City hosts the event.  Program they said was scheduled to start at 3, so we got there, at 4.

I don’t want to go through the entire event, let me just highlight a few moments of the event:

The 3 moms in the same frame

I am not able to post their pictures here, but I was able to get a picture of three mothers.  2 of whom had lost their sons to AIDS early this year. and the other one, well, she’s is Elena Felix.

The light show.

I eagerly awaited the light show but I was called onto the stage for the countdown.  Had Dr. Rolly Cruz not seen me, I would have pretended not hearing the call and just remained at my spot. The light show was amazing, it wasn’t world class or anything but coinciding with the candlelight memorial, it made the occasion extra-emotional

The candlelight.and the quilt

Quilts and candles in memory of those who died were a tradition.  With Josh Groban’s voice singing in the background, the moment was sculptured to be emotional. I was bothered by the photo shoots going on everywhere by some who didn’t really quite get the essence of what was going on.

The boy on his knees

The main highlight of the day for me. while politicians and agency leaders were on stage giving their talks, and while others were busy with their selfies, this young man was on his knees lighting the candles. He was just going on and on from one candle to another, not mindful of the people around him– wanting to light every candle he can possibly light.

knees

I want to see more/less next time.

  • More people who really understand and feel each and every candle lit
  • Less talks, like when a PLHIV came up to me and said, “I was about to cry during the candlelight, and then someone is introduced and is asked to give a speech on stage…”
  • More organizational involvement
  • Less organizations in chaos (this is me wishing upon a star)
About +daddy+drEw+

HIV awareness and treatment Advocate & Activist. Living with HIV since 2007. A friend. A partner. A dad to the HIV Community.
This entry was posted in Advocacy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

