Debtless and Broke

01.15.2015

Jobless and Finance Charges

I left the corporate world in December 2012 and ever since, even if I hardly used my credit cards, I was not able to pay my balance.  Considering how terrible the finance charges are in the Philippines, both my Citibank cards exceeded 150K to around 180K, while my HSBC bloated to 240K at least.  Mid to late 2015, I was able to pay both my Citibank cards.

People thought I was crazy to give everything up for a community that to their perception, doesn’t give me anything but headaches and stress.

2AM 

i decided to drive out to BPI and I had to go to three branches before I was able to withdraw.  And then I went to the HSBC branch in Quezon Avenue where I, finally, paid what’s supposedly left of my balance. HSBC negotiated for a near 70% discount and I must give it to that collector, I gave in because, well, she was nice.  She wasn’t particularly aggressive and she was empathetic of what have been the poorest years of my life (naks!)

The Branch

The guard was in deep slumber when I entered the branch, I didn’t notice him at the corner of the machine and when he was startled, I too, was startled. I took an envelope and counted my cash, filled out the form and sealed the envelope (of course, with the cash inside).  I walked over to the machine and my heart was beating so fast, I was rather excited, but nervous since I knew, I would be broke after this transaction.  And I did it.  I deposited the last of the 2 negotiated installment payments for HSBC.

Driving Back Home

As I turned to the last corner going home, I let out a deep sigh and blurted out, “Thank you, Lord.”  I almost instantaneously said, “Uy!” realizing I haven’t really thanked Him for some time. I smiled as I approached my parking slot.

So there, I’m officially debtless. And Broke.  Now I stare at my electric and cable bills thinking, now what?

Oh well…

People thought I was crazy to give everything up for a community that to their perception, doesn’t give me anything but headaches and stress. But as I go to bed in a few minutes, I know I’m good.

Broke but not broken.

Broke but good.

 

About +daddy+drEw+

HIV awareness and treatment Advocate & Activist. Living with HIV since 2007. A friend. A partner. A dad to the HIV Community.
This entry was posted in Advocacy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

