My 2015 Pride

01.02.2015

There were many international competitions in 2015 that made me proud as a Filipino. Here are a few:

Beauty Queens:

I got this from http://www.globalbeauties.com:

beauties.jpg

I think the most recent was Miss Tourism Queen International towards the end of the year where the Philippine representative bagged the title.

Talent Searches:

The X-Factor Australia winner is a half filipino, Cyrus Villanueva, not to mention that it’s the 2nd consecutive year that a (half)Filipino won the competition.

The X-Factor U.K. had a group of sisters called the 4th impact, who made news across U.K. and here in the country as well.  They didn’t make it through the finals but that sense of pride was something I cannot deny myself every time I watched them.

Asia’s got talent had 4  Filipino finalists with El Gamma Penumbra bringing home the lechon! (or was it bringing home the bacon? LOL).  The El Gamma shadow dance was just amazing and truly deserving of the title.

Half-Pinay singer Amy Vachal made it far in the Voice (USA).

Three dance groups won places in the international hiphop competition held in California, US last AUgust (I think).

I’m sure there are a lot more competitions out there where Filipinos excelled, but for me (and only for me), these were the stand outs for my 2015.

 

 

About +daddy+drEw+

HIV awareness and treatment Advocate & Activist. Living with HIV since 2007. A friend. A partner. A dad to the HIV Community.
This entry was posted in Advocacy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

