When I Forget Faces

10.30.2015

When I forget faces…

It may be that you were a mere cameo in a crowd.

It may be that I am showing early signs of Alzheimer’s.

It may be that you caused me so much pain that my brain shut you out.

It may be that I caused you so much pain that I shut you out.

Forgetting people.

In a life like mine, I have met so many people in so many companies, i hardly remember faces and I do not remember names.  But there had been cases where people are so sure that they know me beyond acquaintance and yet, I remained clueless.

The “One who got away”

There’s this guy early 2000s, I know I hurt him so much that I cannot remember his face. To think, we went out for a couple of months. All I know is that his name was Oliver. And now, all that’s left of him is his name and flashes of memories of the times we shared together. Memories without a face.

My First Ever

The guy I hooked up with when I was 18. I remember we checked in some motel and we did go out a few times after that. Then eventually, I found out he was doing sex work and at the time, I couldn’t understand the whys and the hows and the what-the-hells of sex work, or of life– so I left him. And all I know now is his name is… No I can’t recall his name, nor his face.

My First “Love”

Or so I thought he was my first love… We had so much fun together the night before, but the next morning he woke up and he wasn’t sure about us anymore.  Back then, I didn’t know how to handle being dropped like that.  And I was depressed for a few months. A few years later, I couldn’t even remember his face, except that his name was Mike.

So Are You Forgettable?

No, I’m mostly a jerk for not remembering people. Or choosing not to. Either way, I won’t mind getting the memories back. Re-live them.

When I forget faces…It’s not you, it’s me.

About +daddy+drEw+

HIV awareness and treatment Advocate & Activist. Living with HIV since 2007. A friend. A partner. A dad to the HIV Community.
This entry was posted in Advocacy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

