Mentors and Learning Curves

06.13.2015

2 decades ago

I had my first shock  from the food industry not knowing a thing about it and having myself in the middle of the fast-paced world.  My first mentor was a guy named Jeri. He taught me the very basics of financial statements and people  & marketing management.  Yeah, I learned a great deal from the old management of Chowking.

A decade ago

I shifted from a food industry top management level to an entry-level position in the BPO industry.  I had to learn from scratch and work my way up.  I thought I was customer oriented already having been in the food industry for so long, but it didn’t quite hit the mark in the BPO. I had to learn and understand the concept of service level management and yes, I had to adjust a great deal my management style since I was dealing with an entirely different environment.

Today

I had a skype call with Ka Ruthy and Mike and for the nth time in my life, I found myself learning how to walk. Small steps, they call it. Unfortunately, i don’t have the luxury of time to take these little steps.  I have to learn the fastest but remain grounded.

To all my mentors

Thank  you for teaching me.  It’s nice to know that I have a lot of room to improve on and more roads to travel.

Life for me after all is a constant learning curve.

About +daddy+drEw+

HIV awareness and treatment Advocate & Activist. Living with HIV since 2007. A friend. A partner. A dad to the HIV Community.
This entry was posted in Advocacy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mentors and Learning Curves

  1. those who stop learning are those who slowly wither and die!

Leave a Reply

