ENDS AND MEANS

05.02.2015

The Means.

I was thinking and I wandered into an endless justification of whys and hows.   People do things– that’s a fact.  People will always do things and in a community where helping people out is what matters, people will always do things to reach out to others.  It brought me to a dark place though, somehow, I was questioning myself that…

if i were not trained to do something I am doing, what consequence does this have on my reach?

if i were not trained to do something I am doing, could I be hurting someone without knowing it?

The Ends.

We reached out — that’s what matters.  We helped someone out. Or did we?  Sometimes, I read posts that are well, to some extent, not well thought of.   At least from the perspective of someone else, it wasn’t well thought of.

But does it really matter?  So long as it reaches people, informs people, does it matter how messages are crafted?

OF COURSE, IT DOES!

In a country where HIV is not openly talked about,  does it matter if we invoke fear?  I mean, the end point is to have them tested, right?  Does it matter if we frighten people in the process if at the end of the day, they got tested and they knew their status?

MAYBE IT DOES…

Facts

What informs others may misinform others.

What helps others, hurts others.

What is loved by others is deeply hated by others.

It’s not a perfect world. If we did help people out and in the process may have hurt them, I guess the best thing to do is be there for them.

Be there for them.

About +daddy+drEw+

HIV awareness and treatment Advocate & Activist. Living with HIV since 2007. A friend. A partner. A dad to the HIV Community.
This entry was posted in Advocacy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

