A Case of HIV Stigma On Twitter

01.13.2014

Isolate the HIV Pozzies in Some Island

I saw a post on twitter by some guy on Jan 09, 2015, basically he’s saying that all people living with the disease should be caught and isolated in some island.

People’s reaction

In the said trail, people already called his attention for his “wrong” notion.    He even said that a drop of blood can automatically infect people — ergo People living with the disease should be isolated.

In Silence

I kept my silence somewhat happy that there were a few people who already called the attention of the a**hole.  Then a sudden surge of energy burst out of my cells and made me tag this guy.

I exploded

Comments like his make people not want to get tested.

Comments like his make people living with the disease go underground and not ever want to get treated.

Comments like his prove to the world that HIV Education is far from majority and Ignorance is right on the surface of humanity waiting to devour the very sense of existence of man himself!

He retracted

The poor kid apologized and requested that I remove my posts as people will see his ignorance.  I felt his sincerity, unfortunately, I was trying to look for the post a few minutes ago and I couldn’t find the posts.

I understand this is one single case of a mere lack of understanding of the disease.  I know I could have taken on the opportunity to educate the person, instead I chose to “search and destroy”.

And I am sorry for that.

I really am.

About +daddy+drEw+

HIV awareness and treatment Advocate & Activist. Living with HIV since 2007. A friend. A partner. A dad to the HIV Community.
This entry was posted in Advocacy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

