Christian

12.24.2015

WE MET

He was 20. T’was 2004 and we met through Guys4Men.  We both lived at  the Scout area  of Quezon City. We met a few times after that. We hardly went into detailed conversations since, well… since he was just 20.

AND THEN

We lost touch since I moved to another city and went into the BPO industry. I moved back to the same area in 2008.

WE MET AGAIN

Our Planet Romeo accounts found each other and in no time, we were chatting– this time, we became friends.  There was this time when we spent hours outside the gate as we chatted on and on (while smoking), catching up. You were more conversant than when you were a kid.  You must have told me twice that same day how you kept your BPO job a secret from your friends (and cousins) because you were ashamed of not being able to practice Architecture.

And that you then have gone back to what you loved the most – Architecture.

AND AGAIN

You called me one time and asked me to go to a nearby hotel, I thought it was an emergency so I went.  I think that was the time you told me you were going to SIngapore.

SO THEN

A couple of years passed by and we lost touched.I completely forgot about your SIngapore work and one day, you were there on my Grindr app.  You were nearby.  And we said our usual hellos.

I can’t recall when exactly we started calling each other Baby, but  I’m thinking we just got used to it through the years.

We never got around to having coffee despite several efforts to set a date. Then you started ignoring me on Grindr.

SUDDENLY

November 15. You sent a message to my Planet Romeo account asking for my number.

November 16.  We talked and you told me you were tested positive in Singapore “2 years ago”, I asked you to get tested. You did.  You had difficulty breathing so we brought you to a nearby clinic. We agreed to go to the Treatment hub the next day.  You checked in at a nearby motel so I can easily pick you up the next morning.

November 17.  At 4 in the morning, you ran back to the province and refused to seek treatment.

November 19.  You told your mom and dad about your condition.

November 21.  We had you confined at a private hospital in Quezon City and I finally met your mom.

November 26.  You had to transfer to the Alabang public treatment center due to financial reasons.

November 28.  “my CD4 is 1…”,  you texted.

December 14.  I dropped by from the #REDxYEP2014 and you had this machine monitoring you.  And in a matter of minutes (as I visited another room), yours had a “No Visitor” order from the doctor.

December 15. 16. 17. 18. 19.  I never heard from you or your mom. I kept testing.  I had to ask a friend from a nearby room to check on

December 20.  I received an SMS from your number, “He just passed away.”

December 22.  Your 30th birthday.  Your friends arranged for a 30-rose presentation, white roses!  On the 3rd rose, I had to leave.

December 23.  You were cremated

SO

You’re gone. It’s over. You’re at peace. You’re IN peace.

You fought hard, others may say you fought for more than a month, others may say you started your battle two years ago,   and some may say, you fought your entire life for a good and loved life.

You fought, it doesn’t matter how long, you fought and gave it a good fight.

AND

I will miss you.

P.S. I promise to write a blog about your mom. Promise!

About +daddy+drEw+

HIV awareness and treatment Advocate & Activist. Living with HIV since 2007. A friend. A partner. A dad to the HIV Community.
This entry was posted in Advocacy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Christian

  1. José Walsh says:

    Omg I didn’t imagine it waa going to that kind of ending. Akala ko love story. Shit!

    Hugs man! Christian is now at peace.

  2. Patrick says:

    Was he the guy I visited while I was in the hospital with a client? 😦 If so, I am sorry to hear that he passed away. But yes, he is in peace now. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

