I Am HIV+

 

Image

04.04.2014

I am HIV+

 

I have the virus dreaded and feared by many, but I have conquered the virus. 

I function normally — physically & physiologically.

I am no less efficient nor effective as I ever were.

I am HIV+,

I can excel and exceed.

I am Human.

Strong.

Even made stronger by the challenges of Stigma in my community.

I am tenacious.

I will not bow down to those who feel and think they are higher than me.

I am able.

I refuse to be classified as a Person with Disability.

Emotional.

I cry, I get mad, I love.

And yes, I forgive. And I choose to be happy.

As I may sometimes choose to get frustrated.

I am imperfect. I vent as I must.  I hide as I deem needed.

That is what makes me human.

I am HIV+.

I dare not fight a Virus in vain, instead, I live with it.

I will die as every other person will eventually.

I am HIV+.

I did not change.

I am still your friend, your son, your brother, your colleague.

I will continue to breath and live every moment —

I shall thrive & leave a legacy.

I am HIV+.

I am Me. Created by my God.

Made more courageous by His trials.

I was not punished nor condemned.

I am HIV+.

Living with HIV.

As we all are.

 

About +daddy+drEw+

HIV awareness and treatment Advocate & Activist. Living with HIV since 2007. A friend. A partner. A dad to the HIV Community.
This entry was posted in Advocacy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Am HIV+

  1. I resigned from work due to consecutive absences the medications triggered towards my health. I knew it was discriminatory but I was left with no choice. Up until now, I feel useless. Luck at finding my next full-time job seems so slim. Coupled by the fact that I used to be the breadwinner adds to the stress and depression I am going through. Working visas outside the country were denied due to my malady. I just do not know what to do now. 😐

    • advocatehiv says:

      Hi, i feel you and all I can say is that you will have an opportunity knocking at your door as soon as you recover your top form back. For now, focus on getting your old self back. I hear your concern, i do not feel however that chances go slim because of our status. we are no different from others, we function and do things as good, if not better, than others. please feel free to txt me 0998 5552475

Leave a Reply

