@DvocateHIV: Staying positive while living positive via Outrage Mag

02.25.2014

Here’s a late post. I was featured in Outrage  last year, October 15th.

Some highlights were:

It was not @DvocateHIV’s intention to be tested in 2007. “A friend brought me to a hospital laboratory where he used to work so I can have a complete blood test, he said,” recalled @DvocateHIV. “I was adamant at first since we had a health card in the office, but I gave in eventually. I did not know there was going to be an HIV-Ab test in the procedure. The next day, in the lab, my friend and I were asked to stay in the hematology room. A few hours later, my friend came back crying. I was told the HIV-Ab test came back positive.”

Support for @DvocateHIV comes from “a lot of places,” he said. “Regularly, at home from my partner. Probably online, from PLHIVs. The best support I get though would be from friends. You see, I have been busy with my advocacies lately, and every time I get the chance to see friends, a warm, tight hug is more than enough support for me.

As an HIV-positive person, there are two “great lessons I personally learned these past six years,” @DvocateHIV said. “First, HIV is not a death sentence. For those living with HIV, recent or otherwise, diagnosis is just the first step to a new chapter in your lives. Know your way through and be strong. For yourself. For your loved ones. (And) second, love is not a question of HIV status. Let’s leave it that.”

Read more: Outrage

 

If you have questions or concerns on HIV & AIDS, you may email acr10.009@gmail.com

About +daddy+drEw+

HIV awareness and treatment Advocate & Activist. Living with HIV since 2007. A friend. A partner. A dad to the HIV Community.
This entry was posted in Advocacy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

