Working from Home

February 01, 2014

0114hours

….

So I received an email a few weeks back and since there were at least four emails linked to my Iphone, I did not notice the said email.  It was an online writing job application I had and I was being asked to submit an article.  I was told it would be simple, like writing a blog.   Basically to share about “The Day I Realized I can Work From Home.”   This morning I flew back in from Bangkok and the first order of the day was to sleep, but I had to turn my computer on to filter the emails and look for that particular email.

Now this got me thinking.  When did it all start really?  I would think It started when I was still in my regular job with a bank doing corporate general services.  I had an offsite remote access to the office systems and as a result, I was able to “work from home.”

Then again, I do not think this is what the article was asking from me. It’s asking me about the day I REALLY realized I can actually work from home. Full time.  Yes?

I cannot really put a finger on that exact day, but it has got to be the days after I left my job at the bank.  It was then that I decided to work on a non-profit organization that I had so long planned to organize and so long dreamed to create.  It was then that I knew I had to work from home so I can give time to my dreams of doing something for the HIV community.  It was then that I told myself I really had to work from home.

I know to myself that this option may not fulfill my financial needs, but then I had other priorities that attend to my “fulfilled financial needs”.

Working from home gave me more free time to do other things like travel, coffee dates, catch up with old friends and yes– write.  I blogged but I had to use a pseudonym to for confidentiality purposes.  I blogged a lot — about life, love, the HIV community,  travels– and most of all, I was able to go back to my passion of writing poems.  Poetry is something I started in high school. It was more of a pastime when I got bored with some teacher relentlessly reading through her notes and dragging the hours away. And so I started writing poems. And yes, I even put some music onto some of my works.  Yup, I’m a certified frustrated music writer.

Going back. (Sorry.)

Working from home gave me freedom.  Writing is my freedom.   I got a few jobs to ghost write for some people.   Some documents were business related asking me to assess a certain service oriented business locally. Some assignments were  related to writing about a recent happening in the HIV community.  Sometimes I helped write press releases and news write ups. Some simply asked me to write about anything under the sun.

I got paid pretty well — depending on the work load within a month, but on the average I would get around 500 dollars on a lazy month. I must admit it did not really consistently pay me the level that the bank was paying me.  Then again, I never really gave that much of my time as I used to in the bank.  I’d normally put in an average of 60-70 hours a week in the bank.

The realization of working from home gave me liberty. A sense of independence from the corporate slave set up that I got so used to for more than seventeen (17) years.   Working from home made me realize that I am able to do things that I need to do, things I wanted to do, and things I must do.

Working from home gave me time. Time for myself, for my loved one, and for my passion.

Much as I don’t exactly know that day I realized I can work from home.  I can confidently say I know the reasons why I had to work from home.

Working from home allowed me to go back to something Ernest Hemingway wrote:

 Try to learn to breathe deeply, really to taste food when you eat, and when you sleep, really to sleep.  Try as much as possible to be wholly alive with all you might, and when you laugh, laugh like hell.  And when you get angry, get good and angry.  Try to be alive.  You will be dead soon enough.

Writing is my way of being alive. REALLY ALIVE.

About +daddy+drEw+

HIV awareness and treatment Advocate & Activist. Living with HIV since 2007. A friend. A partner. A dad to the HIV Community.
This entry was posted in Various and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

