The Bangkok Pigeon Scam

01/31/2014

The plane landed at the International Airport at around 0440 in the morning and the Thailand trip was near perfect — temple ruins, street foods, ping pong show (for my friends), street markets, and more food.  But something tainted the trip.

Today at around 4 in the afternoon, coming from the Grand Palace, we walked through a small park where there were hundred of pigeons.   I took a picture of the pigeons and walked on but a lady said “Hello!” from behind (it’s their Thai way of saying, excuse me, can we talk?  or catching your attention) , she handed me and two girl friends three small packs of bird feeds and then she left.

We were amused of her kindness of wanting to feed the birds and so we did.  Pictures were taken and just as we were about to leave,  she came up to us asking for a hundred and fifty baht EACH for the three packs of bird feeds she have each of us.  I wanted to argue but her voice raised and I saw that the girls were startled.  We paid her.

The lady was a bit on the heavy side with  dark skin tone.

My friends were still talking about it as we walked back to the hotel, but I kept my silence as I knew I was itching to go to the nearest police station.  I also knew proficient English was a rare commodity in the vicinity so it would have been a waste of time.

I twitted about this and got a few responses:

  • Cab drivers in Bangkok scam people as well for tours and would ask for more than the agreed price
  • Cab drivers would not use their taxi meters and over charge tourists (I can personally attest to this)
  • Bangkok tourist scams were featured on TV before

So there, let this be a warning, don’t be kind to animals.  Just kidding.

Be careful of supposed acts of kindness when in Bangkok.  You’ll never know what will hit you.

About +daddy+drEw+

HIV awareness and treatment Advocate & Activist. Living with HIV since 2007. A friend. A partner. A dad to the HIV Community.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Bangkok Pigeon Scam

  1. Yuna says:

    Bangkok tourist scam is everywhere, i just back from Bangkok, and i found so much. i’ll post about it later. i hate it when i knew exactly we were being scamed and couldn’t do anything because we had no choice T_T.

Leave a Reply

